What Is The SHSH Blob ,Why I Need To Save SHSH , How Do I Save SHSH , How To Downgrade With SHSH ?

In response to our readers requests (on our Facebook Page) we made this post to explain the SHSH Blob , So in this post we answered many questions like What is the meaning of SHSH Blob ? Why we need to save SHSH Blobs? How-to save SHSH ? How to downgrade with SHSH ? How to fix error 1013? Can I downgrade without saving SHSH Blob ?And other FAQ about the downgrade and the SHSH Blob ? So lets start our lesson.

1st- What is The SHSH Blob ?

An SHSH Blob (for Signature HaSH) is a 128-byte RSA signature used to verify the validity of firmware on newer (iPhone 3G/3GS/4, iPad or iPod touch second generation onward) Apple iOS devices.

SHSH Blobs are used in a challenge-response authentication of the firmware, where the challenge key comes in a combination of a hash of the firmware and the Exclusive Chip ID (ECID) of the device.The response from Apple is the SHSH itself, the digital signature required to validate the firmware.

Significance of SHSH on Downgrading and Jailbreaking – Because the challenge key is static, a cached copy of the signature may be used in a replay attack to trick the signing software (iTunes) into validating an old firmware. Using this technique is necessary to restore to previous versions of the iOS on the iPhone 3G/3GS/4, iPad 1/2 or iPod touch second generation onward. Downgrading the iOS in such a manner may be used for iOS jailbreaking, since older software may have known exploits.

This Definition is from Wikipedia

2nd-Why I Need To Save SHSH ?

If for some reason, when you are try to restore to a previous version, Apple will not allow you to restore it becuase, you are trying load a older version of iOS . To make this possible, we need to send a request to a different server (Local or designated) which sends a SHSH blob (which was saved by you) back to iTunes faking that its the current version.So you need to Save SHSH to be able from downgrade to an older iOS firmware.

3rd-How Do I Save SHSH ?

There are more than one tool to Save the SHSH Blobs on your device .

Let’s start with the popular tool which called TinyUmbrella .

How To Save SHSH using TinyUmbrealla :

Step 1:Download TinyUmbrella For Mac & Win .

Step 2 : Open TinyUmbrella and TinyUmbrella will show like this screen below :

Step 3:You can see Save SHSH Button in the above photo ,Don’t hit it now.Hit on Advanced first and you will see this screen ,Make sure that you unmark Update iPhone X Baseband (If you are factory unlocked ,it’s ok if you mark it) :

Step 4:Now Hit Save SHSH button ,and TinyUmbrella will proceed :

Now You are Finish , and TinyUmbrella will show the Saved SHSH files as in this screen :

Another tool for saving SHSH Blobs called iSHSHit and this tool is actually an app which you can download it for free from Cydia.

How To Save SHSH using iSHSHit:

Step 1:Open Cydia and go the search and write iSHSHit and open it then Hit Install >> Confrim

Step 2:After the installation process open iSHSHit from you Device :

iSHSHit will show like this :

Step 3:Hit Model and select your Device :

Step 4:Hit Firmware and select your version :

Step 5:Now Tap Save to begin the download :

Wait for the download to finish and now you are done with saving the SHSH Blobs with iSHSHit .

Now we will use the famous tool which called iFaith and this tool had been developed by the famous iPhone hacker iH8sn0w.

How To Save SHSH using iFaith :

Download iFaith.

Check our simple Guide to save SHSH Blobs using iFaith .

How To Downgrade With SHSH ?

Step 1: Download the firmware file you want to downgrade to.

Step 2: In order to proceed, you’ll need to set your device into DFU mode, by taking the following steps:

  1. Connect the device to your computer, turn it completely off, by holding the power button and sliding your finger along the red slider, just like you normally would, then launch iTunes.
  2. With your device still plugged in, press and hold both the power and home buttons for 10 seconds.
  3. After 10 seconds, release the power button but keep pressing the home button for 10 more seconds. At this point, your screen should be completely black. If you see the iTunes logo, you’re not in DFU mode.

Step 3: once you have entered DFU mode, you need to trick iTunes into connecting to Saurik’s server instead of Apple’s servers. In order to do this, you’ll need to edit your hosts file, like we’re showing below.

For Windows: navigate to WindowsSystem32driversetc and locate the file namedhosts. Back it up and open it in Notepad.

For Mac : From Finder, hit the Go menu, select Go to Folder and type in /etc/. Now look for a file named hosts. Back it up and open it in TextEdit.

On either system, add the following line to the hosts file, then save it. Make sure you have administrative privileges:

74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com

Step 4: launch iTunes, select your device from the sidebar and click on Restore while holding Alt if you’re on the Mac and Shift if you’re on Windows. If everything goes as expected, you should be able to select the firmware file you’d like to downgrade to. Once you’ve done it, your device should be downgraded in a matter of minutes.

Note: sometimes a 1013 error will pop up, throwing your device into recovery mode.

To go out from recovery mode you can use TinyUmbrella , Right Click on your device then select Exit Recovery Mode.

Now you are done and your device should work normally.

Can I downgrade without SHSH Blobs ?

Yes, you can and wait for our tutorial for how to downgrade from 4.3.5/4.3.4 to 4.3.3 without SHSH Blobs.

FAQ ‘s About Saving SHSH Blobs :

Q:I have a iPhone 3G, Do I have to save my SHSH Blob?

A: Yes! It applies to iPhone 3G, 3GS, 4 & iPodTouch 2G, 3G, 4G & iPad 1,2.

Q: Can I use some one else SHSH Blob?

A: NO! While you are saving SHSH blob, it saves with ECID (Exclusive Chip ID) & it should match when you are restoring it.

Our lesson is finished but we are waiting for your questions on our Facebook Page , Twitter Account or Google+ .

And Don’t forget that we are preparing a tutorial for how to downgrade from 4.3.5/4.3.4 to 4.3.3 without SHSH Blobs.

Stay Tuned for more Tutorials (Downgrade to 4.3.3 without save SHSH Blob) .

Speak Your Mind

*


five − 1 =